Video of The Day: Parquet Courts

There's a bunch of videos out there. Some of them are good. Some of them are a cut above. I like to think my picks for Video of The Day are a cut (or two) above.

"Almost Had to Start a Fight/In and Out of Patience" could be considered a fitting anthem of the depressingly broken age we are currently living in. The feelings of exasperation in this nervy jangle of Parquet Courts perfectly expresses the frustration and constant agitation that each day's news brings. The upside, of course, is that this is new Parquet Courts, which is a beacon of good news amidst a sea of shit.

Adding to the volume of good news is the announcement of a new Parquet Courts record (Wide Awake, due out in May on Rough Trade) AND a bevy of Parquet Courts live dates (find them below). But first, the video for "Almost Had to Start a Fight/In and Out of Patience." This bold, colorful clip is punchy as can be, a combination of fabulous visuals that provides a pleasing palette for the song's agitated pluck.  


Sat. Feb. 24 - Los Angeles, CA @ Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever w/ Anna St. Louis ***SOLD OUT***
Tue. Apr. 24 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Thu. Apr. 26 - Austin, TX @ Stubb's - Levitation w/ Ty Segall
Fri. Apr. 27 - Norman, OK @ Norman Music Festival
Sat. Apr. 28 - Dallas, TX @ Sons of Hermann Hall
Sun. Apr. 29 - Englewood, CO @ The Gothic Theatre
Sat. May 5 - Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival
Wed. May 23 - Boston, MA @ Royale w/ Goat Girl
Thu. May 24 - Providence, RI @ Fete Ballroom w/ Goat Girl
Fri. May 25 - Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall w/ Goat Girl
Sat. May 26 - Montreal, QC @ Theatre Fairmount w/ Goat Girl
Sun. May 27 - Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Theatre w/ Goat Girl
Mon. May 28 - Detroit, MI @ El Club w/ Goat Girl
Wed. May 30 - Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre w/ Goat Girl
Thu. May 31 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line w/ Goat Girl
Fri. June 1 - Lawrence, KS @ The Granada w/ Goat Girl
Sat. June 2 - St Louis, MO @ Ready Room w/ Goat Girl
Sun. June 3 - Nashville, TN @ Basement East w/ Goat Girl
Tue. June 5 - Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel w/ Goat Girl
Wed. June 6 - Carborro, NC @ Cat's Cradle w/ Goat Girl
Thu. June 7 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club w/ Goat Girl
Fri. June 8 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer w/ Goat Girl
Wed. July 4 - Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Thu. July 5 - Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
Fri. July 6 - Groningen, NL @ Vera
Sun. July 8 - Hérouville saint Clair, FR @ Festival Beauregard Festival
Thu. July 12 - Bilbao, ES @ Bilbao BBK Festival
Sat. July 14 - Beccles, UK @ Latitude Festival
Sun. July 15 - Kortrijk, BE @ De Kreun
Tue. July 17 - Duedingen, CH @ Bad Bonn

[posted 2.24.18]


Popular Posts